We use cookies.
By using the site, you agree to our Privacy Policy.

Year of birth
Academic degree
Candidate of physical and mathematical Sciences
Field of studies

Honorary professor, lead research fallow at the Saint Petersburg National Research University of Information Technologies, Mechanics and Optics – ITMO

General information

Leading scientist's research interests:

Metamaterials, metasurfaces, nonlinear optics, biophotonics, optical solitons, optical fibers, nonlinear parametric processes, nanophotonics, graphene physics, polaritons, optical waveguides, optical switches, waveguide modes optics.

Quote by the head of the laboratory:

These days many good scientists came to the Center for Nanophotonics and Metamaterials including those working in European laboratories. In fact, we have created the center of gravity so now new professionals want to come here and work.

Scientific recognition

Awards and achievements:

2018 – Humboldt Research Award (Germany).

2017 – W.H. (Beattie) Steel Medal, Australian Optical Society (Австралия.

2014 – A. A. Lebedev Medal of the Optical Society named after D S Rozhdestvenskiy. For unique achievements in developing the science of lasers and technologies of their creation, for stimulation information exchange, popularizing laser science.

2014 – The Harrie Massey Medal and Prize, Institute of Physics (UK). For works in nonlinear optic, metamaterials and metadevices.

2012 – Honorary Member of the Institute of Physics (UK).

2010 – Distinguished Professor, Australian National University. For achievements in scientific work.

2008 – Distinguished Professor of the Wenner-Gren Foundation (Sweden).

2007 – Tomas Ranken Lyle Medal, Australian Academy of Science. Fir research in nonlinear optics.

2006 – Honorary member of the American Physical Society (USA).

2006 – Distinguished Professor of the Carl Zeiss University in Jena (Germany).

2005 – Walter Boas Award, Australian Institute of Physics.

Hide Show full
Other laboratories and scientists
Hosting organization
Field of studies
Invited researcher
Time span of the project
Laboratory for the Inter-disciplinary Study of Space

Tyumen State University - (UTMN)

History and archaeology


Bassin Mark



Laboratory for Architectural Archaeology and the Inter-disciplinary Study of Architectural Monuments

The Institute of Archaeology of the RAS - (IA RAS)

History and archaeology


Giumlia-Mair Alessandra

Switzerland, Italy


Laboratory for Social and Anthropological Research

Tomsk State University - (TSU)

History and archaeology


Funk Dmitriy Anatoliyevich