We use cookies.
By using the site, you agree to our Privacy Policy.

Year of birth
Academic degree
Field of studies

Professor for Allergology, Medical University Vienna, Department of Pathophysiology and Allergy Research, Center for Pathophysiology (Austria)

General information

Leading scientist's research interests: medical biotechnology.

Quote by the head of the laboratory: The most useful thing a scientist can do is to research what will be useful for the humanity.

Scientific recognition
Awards and achievements

2020 - Erich Fuchs Award of the German Society for Allergy and Clinical Immunology.

2020 - Guest Professor at Karl Landsteiner University of Health Sciences, Krems (Austria).

2018 - Global Allergology and Immunology Award of the Center for Pathophysiology, Infectiology and Immunology of the Medical University of Vienna (Austria).

2017 - Director of the new WAO Center of Excellence at MedUni Vienna, which comprises the SFB F46 allergy research program, the international MCCA PhD program and coordinates the international post-graduate teaching network INUNIMAI.

2016 - International Distinguished Fellow (IDF) Award of the American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (ACAAI).

2016 - Foreign Adjunct Professor, Department of Medicine Solna, Karolinska   Institutet (Sweden).

2014 - Selected among best five scientists of the Medical University of Vienna (Austria).

2013 - Shortlisted for Else Kröner Fresenius Award.

2013 - “Würdigungspreis Wissenschaft 2013 des Landes Niederösterreich“.

2012 - “Inventor of the year 2012” of the Medical University of Vienna (Austria).

2011 - Forschungspreis ”Atopische Dermatitis” der Stiftung Pro Derma, Hamburg (Germany).

2009 - Paul Ehrlich Award for Experimental Research of the European Academy of Allergy and Clinical Immunology (EAACI).

2008 - President of the Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology.

2006 - Corresponding member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

2001 - Alois Sonnleitner Award for Immunology of the Austrian Academy of


2000 - 6th Sarstedt Award for the genetic analysis of allergy-eliciting substances and their recombinant production (after: J. Klose and P. H. O’Farrell 1986 Two-dimensional electrophoresis, H. Towbin, T. Staehelin and J. Gordon, Western blot 1988, M. Wilchek and E. A. Bayer Biotin-Avidin system 1990, F. S. Collins, J. R. Riordan, L.-C. Tsui Cystic fibrosis gene 1993, B. Vogelstein and D. Sidransky Molecular biology of malignant tumors 1997).

1998 - START Award of the Austrian Science Fund (FWF).

1996 - International Award of the Pharmacia Allergy Research Foundation.

1992 - Theodor Billroth Preis Vienna Medical Society.

1992 - Karl Landsteiner Award of the Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology.

1992 - Gold Medal of the Foundation of Allergy Research of Europe (F.A.R.E.).

1991 - Clemens von Pirquet Preis of the Austrian Society for Allergology and Immunology.

Hide Show full
Other laboratories and scientists
Hosting organization
Field of studies
Invited researcher
Time span of the project
Laboratory for the Inter-disciplinary Study of Space

Tyumen State University - (UTMN)

History and archaeology


Bassin Mark



Laboratory for Architectural Archaeology and the Inter-disciplinary Study of Architectural Monuments

The Institute of Archaeology of the RAS - (IA RAS)

History and archaeology


Giumlia-Mair Alessandra

Switzerland, Italy


Laboratory for Social and Anthropological Research

Tomsk State University - (TSU)

History and archaeology


Funk Dmitriy Anatoliyevich